Advisory Committees

Our Advisory Committees are comprised of representatives from our stakeholders in Canada’s research, education, and innovation sectors. This governance structure ensures that our programs and initiatives are tailored to respond to the evolving needs of the communities we serve.

CANARIE is supported by the following committees:

  • Cybersecurity Advisory Committee
  • Innovation and Commercialization Committee
  • National Research and Education Network (NREN) Governance Committee

Some of the information that we share with committee members and/or Directors of the Board is, by its very nature, confidential. To protect the owners of that confidential information, as a key element of good governance, and ultimately to prevent lobbying of the CANARIE Board and our funder, Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada (ISED), all committee and Board members are asked to sign the CANARIE Confidentiality Agreement. This blog post explains.

Cybersecurity Advisory Committee

The Cybersecurity Advisory Committee membership is representative of stakeholders across Canada’s higher education and research sector, and provides unique perspectives on cybersecurity needs across this sector. The Committee provides:  

  • Advice and guidance on advancing national collaboration that supports strengthened cybersecurity capabilities across the sector, and
  • Guidance on how our Cybersecurity Initiatives Program can foster a broader collaborative cybersecurity vision and supports the needs of the community. 
  • Dave Chiswell | Vice President Product Development, CIRA
  • Chad Coller | President, SRNET
  • Jennifer Doyle | Vice President, Finance and Administration, University of Ottawa
  • Art Exner | CIO, University of Regina (Chair)
  • JC Fahmy | President, CENGN
  • Gayleen Gray | CIO, McMaster University
  • Brock Kahanyshyn | Vice President Operations and Cybersecurity, Digital Research Alliance of Canada
  • Gitta Kulczycki | Vice President, Finance and Administration, Dalhousie University
  • Wency Lum | CIO, University of Victoria
  • Arun Munje | CEO, AIHEARU
  • Raymond Saunders | Director, IT Security, Saskatchewan Polytechnic
  • David Smith | Chief Technology Officer, ORION
  • Don Thompson | CISO, University of British Columbia


We will invite participants to this committee based on guidance from our stakeholder community.

Innovation and Commercialization Committee

The Innovation and Commercialization Committee provides us with guidance on initiatives that support Canadian businesses’ adoption of transformative technologies, with a goal of ensuring that our private sector initiatives are effective and relevant to the Canadians they serve.   

  • Chris Diaper | CEO, Canadian Accelerator and Incubator Network (CAIN)
  • Jeff Dungen | CEO, reelyActive
  • Ali Hirji | Lead, Cybersecurity, Youth Employment Services
  • Karen Kabel | Associate Dean, Creative Arts & Applied Computer Education, RRC Polytech
  • Marco Rueckert | Vice President, Technology, Searidge Technologies
  • Rola Shaar | Director of Development, Nanometrics Inc.
  • Hubert Sugeng | Director of Engineering, BluWave-ai
  • Niek Van Dierdonck | CEO, RedLore
  • Richard Waterhouse | Director, EV Everywhere Commercialization, BluWave-ai
  • Sandra Wear | Principal, Sandra Smarts

National Research and Education Network (NREN) Governance Committee

The NREN Governance Committee equally represents all the partners in Canada’s NREN and is the confederated body that oversees the NREN’s evolution and the services it enables and delivers. The committee facilitates: 

  • ongoing communication between all partners, 
  • joint strategic and operational planning for network infrastructure and services, and
  • the coordination of the operation, monitoring, and evolution of the NREN. 
  • Barb Carra | President and CEO, Cybera
  • Chad Coller | President and CEO, SRNET
  • Sandra Cascadden | Executive Director, ACORN-NS
  • Todd Farrell | Associate Director Infrastructure Services, ACORN-NL
  • Kathryn Anthonisen | President and CEO, CANARIE
  • Jared Hougen | CIO and Director IT, Yukon University
  • Bala Kathiresan | President and CEO, BCNET
  • Richard Lacombe | Director General, RISQ (Chair)
  • Jennifer Lane | IT Strategic Advisor, Nunavut Arctic College
  • Alfonso Licata | President and CEO, ORION
  • Gerry Miller | CEO, MRnet
  • Hannah Vedamani | Interim Manager, Information Systems & Technology Information, Aurora College
  • Dana Sanderson | CIO, University of Prince Edward Island, Member representative, ECN-PEI